Tags

, , , , , ,

 It’s hard to believe that another Thanksgiving has come and gone, that we drove our family to the airport and said a fond “goodbye,” that our boys will be back in school tomorrow and that we’re starting to think about getting ready for Christmas.  It all goes so quickly when you are an adult and seems to be in slow motion as a child (at least that’s what I remember).  A very wise girlfriend of mine told me when I was pregnant with my first (and only about 5 minutes into the whole, long 9 months) that once your children are in school all day, time will move lightening speed.  Oh, she was so right.

 Now that we’re thinking of Christmas, will all the dizzying array of  preparations, card sending and wrapping I just wanted to take a few moments to find some of my own inspiration for our home.  I do want to pull out favorite recipes and decorations, but also love to get other ideas.  I am loving this photo from Country Living and am on their site frequently.  My Mom will forward me little links for inspiration with decorating, cooking, and entertaining.  It’s almost too inspiring as I can certainly waist some valuable laundry folding time on that website.  Are you a fan of butternut squash or any roasted winter squash for that matter?  You can check out their recipe for roasted winter squash soup (pictured above) or I recently posted a super easy side dish for roasted butternut squash with sage and garlic here.

Here’s another beautiful photo from Country Living.  I wish I could step right into the photo in a Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe sort of way.  I just adore feather trees and their wispy, vintage feel.  Another thing I love are brown, paper tags.  I use them as Christmas tags, of course, but also use twine to loop them onto food gifts I give away to friends.  This photo from Country Living inspires me with the bare branches place in a glass jar and stamped brown tags hanging from the branches.  I’d say that’s very budget friendly Christmas decorating.



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Small Things I’m Looking Forward To This Christmas

1. Polishing the silver and using various pieces to decorate the house.

2. Purchasing our fresh Christmas tree.

3. Making lots and lots of homemade soups.

4. Baking bread.

5. Reading a Christmas storybook to my boys each night.

6. Making homemade raspberry truffles.

7. Making an Advent wreath.

8. Hanging Christmas stockings on the mantle.

9. Making homemade Christmas decorations.

10. Reflecting back on our blessings this year.

