Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been making a lot of salads lately and why not?  It’s summertime, the ingredients are in season which means they taste amazing, are readily available and priced right.  I’m going to miss when fresh berries give way to falling leaves and winter squash.

One thing to note on my foray into salad making is that I generally am making them just for me.  With my husband working late into the evening most nights and my kids not being totally into the “salad as a meal idea,” I’ve learned just to make enough for my lunch or dinner.  The poppy seed dressing however, will make enough for lots of salads.  Store it properly in your refrigerator and it will keep for 3 days. {Yum}.

I started by grating a Vidalia onion on a microplane grater.

 Grating the onion allows it to easily incorporate into the finished dressing.  There are no bits that you are biting into.  And, the onions seem to disappear but not before imparting their subtle flavor in each delicious bite.

I added the one and only Duke’s mayonnaise to make this dressing wonderfully creamy in texture.

I used a 1/2 teaspoon of lime zest and 2 tsp of lime juice.  Using both really enhances the flavor and tastes great when matched up against fresh berries.

Finally, I added 1 tbsp of poppy seeds and seasoned with Kosher salt using a whisk to fully incorporate all of the ingredients.

I used about a 1/2 cup of fresh, hulled strawberries and blackberries.  If you prefer only strawberries you can omit the blackberries.

To prepare this “salad for one,” I used 1 cup of organic greens, about a 1/2 cup of fresh berries (I hulled and sliced the strawberries), and 1 tbsp of toasted, slivered almonds.  I toasted the almonds in a small skillet on my stove top for about 3 minutes over medium-high heat.

{Isn’t this just the picture of summertime dining?}

Poppy Seed Dressing

Ingredients

1 1/2 tsp grated Vidalia onion

1/4 cup Duke’s mayonnaise

1/4 cup sugar

1 tbsp champagne vinegar

1/4 cup milk

1/2 tsp lime zest

2 tsp lime juice

1 tbsp poppy seeds

Kosher salt to taste

Method

Using a microplane grater, grate 1 1/2 tsp of Vidalia onion into mixing bowl.  Add the next 7 ingredients using a whisk to incorporate.  Add salt to taste.  Store covered, in the refrigerator for 3 days.

I’m linking to Friday Potluck over at girlichef.  Check it out!

