Tags

, , , ,

My kids are huge fans of dipping something into well, anything.  Every parent knows what I’m talking about.  Carrot sticks into ranch dressing, chicken nuggets into ketchup, a tiny finger into frosting.  

Now that they have developed a real affinity for pizza and they’ve aways been fans of any type of breaded chicken cutlet, I wanted a fun way to combine the two, while still letting them dip into some type of sauce.  In this case, it’s pizza sauce.

What I came up with was breaded chicken tenders placed onto a wooden skewer and then let them dip them into pizza sauce and then into shredded cheese.  I used a combination of Mozzarella, Parmesan and mild cheddar.  My oldest child came up with “Pizza Chicken on a Stick” and he quite liked the dinner that night!

Here’s a simple recipe for you to follow to recreate your own “Pizza Chicken on a Stick:”

1 lb chicken tenders, washed and patted dry

1 Cup seasoned breadcrumbs

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Extra-Virgin Olive Oil (I use Filippo Berio)

Unsalted Butter

3/4 Cup shredded cheese (I used Parmesan, Mozzarella and cheddar)

Directions:  Heat 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp olive oil in large pan over medium heat, being careful not to burn butter (turn heat down if butter begins to brown).  Add chicken tenders to egg, letting excess egg drip off into bowl.  Next, dredge in bread crumbs, pressing lightly to adhere.  Make sure all sides of chicken tender are coated in breadcrumbs.  Add coated chicken tenders into pan.  Cook for 2 to 3 minutes per side, until cooked through.  Do not crowd pan. 

After 2nd batch, watch that the bread crumbs that are left in saute pan, don’t scorch.  That burnt breadcrumb flavor will transfer to any subsequent chicken tenders.  The pan can be wiped down with paper towel (off of the flame) to remove any excess breadcrumbs.

Chicken tenders cooking in olive oil and butter.

Chicken tenders cooking in olive oil and butter.

Place cooked chicken tenders onto a plate lined with paper towel. 

Add your favorite pizza or marinara sauce and the shredded cheese  into individual dipping bowls for each family member.

Once chicken has cooled slightly, place a wooden skewer into the bottom of each.  Place onto a serving platter.

 

Simple chicken tenders become more interesting with the addition of skewers.

Simple chicken tenders become more interesting with the addition of skewers.

Instruct your family members to dip their chicken first into their bowl of pizza sauce and then into their bowl of shredded cheese.

I found my asian dipping bowls the perfect size for each of my kids.

I found my asian dipping bowls the perfect size for each of my kids.

