Tags

, , , , , ,

I am a huge fan of roasting vegetables.  I realize people are inclined to be huge fans of sports, travel destinations, even cars and movie stars (I love all those things too), but when you’re looking for a simple side dish, roasting your favorite veggie answers the call.

Earlier this week, I caught Ina Garten on Good Morning America (all be it in my post-shampoo towel turban offering cheerios to my little guy) and she talked about roasting vegetables and of course, her new cookbook. 

Ina Garten's new cookbook.
Ina Garten

One of my favorite veggies to roast is carrots.  They turn out perfect every time with very little effort.  With peeled carrots, cut into 1 1/2 to 2 inch pieces, some good extra-virgin olive oil, coarse salt and freshly ground pepper (just four ingredients, by the way) you can have a delicious side dish in no time.  Set your oven to 400 degrees and roast for about 20 minutes. 

Note:  Do make sure you keep the carrots at about the same thickness after you’ve cut them.  Otherwise, you’ll have very uneven roasting.
And, check out Ina on GMA…here’s the link:  news.yahoo.com/i/2614. 
