Tags

, ,

How many times do each of us think back to our childhoods and one or more happy memories come to mind that are centered around a special dish lovingly prepared by our Mom?  Earlier in the week I knew (besides roasting pumpkin seeds) that I would be making my Mom’s famous Ghost Cake.  After dinner, she would disappear into the kitchen and light the eyes on the ghost cake and then carry it into our dining room to eager kids and some oohs and ahhs.

This year marked the first time I would make her ghost cake and admittedly I was running short on time.  I had to rely on boxed cake mix and prepared white frosting to make things run smoother for me on Halloween night.  I was going for effect and not “homemade goodness.”  You understand.

While finishing up dinner preparations, my Mom came over with homemade guacamole and chips and her cheese and onion puffs (also famous from my childhood) and then proceeded to cut the cake into its ghostly shape and frost it as well.  Thanks, Mom!

Here is the finished cake from Friday night.

The famous ghost cake.

The famous ghost cake.

