Tags

, , , ,

Asparagus is one of my favorite vegetables; about 35 calories per one cup serving, high in vitamins A, B, and C, and a good source of potassium and iron.  Just like most other veggies in my history of enjoying food, I stayed far away as a child but grew to love it in my 20’s.  Typically when I make asparagus at dinnertime, my Mom runs over to get a serving because I can’t get anyone else in my household to try it.  Oh well, maybe in their 20’s (wink)….

I wanted to share my Mom’s method of making asparagus.  This is typically how I make it as well unless I’m going to roast it, which I highly recommed trying if you haven’t already. 

Mom’s Method

Wash asparagus under cool water and pat dry.  Cut off tough, woody ends and discard.  Add one tablespoon unsalted butter to a saute pan over medium heat.  When butter melts, add asparagus (preferably in one layer) to pan and about 3/4 Cup water (asparagus should not be immersed in water; just come about 1/2 way up; adjust quantity of water if needed).  Simmer asparagus for 10 minutes or until fork tender.  Season to taste with coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper.

december-2008-051Now for my delightful lunch this afternoon, I prepared one scrambled egg  which I seasoned with freshly chopped parsley and then placed onto one piece of toast.  I trimmed three asparagus spears to fit on top of the egg and then place two slices of chevre onto the opposite piece of toast.  The combination of egg, asparagus and chevre is a simple and easy meal.

