Tags

, , ,

banana-chocolate-chip-brerad-008

A pork loin.
A pork loin.

When I first started cooking, I read through every cookbook I could get my hands on trying various recipes that caught my eye and making tons of mistakes along the way.  I also had subscriptions to Gourmet and Bon Appetit.  I read all of the articles and would attempt recipes that had more than 12 ingredients.  No problem on the number of ingredients just lots of mistakes in terms of timing. 

See if this sounds familiar:  you’ve purchased a new cookbook and found a recipe for a main dish, a salad, vinaigrette, additional side dish and and maybe even a dessert.  You’ve invited family over (they’ll usually be less critical if anything goes wrong) for a nice dinner.  You begin cooking only to realize that you’ve not worked out the timing on the wild rice (takes much longer than you’ve planned) and you’re just not quite sure where to insert the thermometer to get an accurate reading on the roast.  And you’ve decided that the dessert you plan to make sounds fantastic, but you probably should’ve made it last night. 

This is how I stumbled through my first few years of cooking at home.

 I’m sharing this little antecdote because a roast loin of pork (studded with fresh rosemary and slivered garlic) was one of those early attempted recipes to be eaten at a birthday celebration for my Mom.  Not only was the timing wrong, but I kept waiting for the internal temperature to reach 185 degrees, which resulted in a totally overcooked and tough, dried out pork loin.

Top 5 Tips for Roast Loin of Pork:

  • Marinating overnight will enhance the flavor of your finished roast.  There are literally thousands of recipes on the web.
  • Select a roasting pan that fits the size of your roast.  Allow for 1-2 inches all the way around the pan, between the roast and the edge of the pan itself.
  • Internal temperature of the roast (inserted into the thickest part) should reach 150-155 degrees.
  • Let the roast rest for 10-15 minutes after removing from the oven (cover with foil and leave in the roasting pan).  The roast will continue to cook and the juices won’t escape when you cut into the roast to serve.
  • Don’t cut into the meat to test for “doneness” this will cause the juices to run out.
