Tags

, , ,

rye-breaded pork chops

rye-breaded pork chops

Who can resist “buy one get one free?”  OK, most of us can’t especially in the grocery store.  This leads me to a shopping trip to my local Lowes Foods store where I got to browse through a Vogue magazine at the check-out stand since I was by myself.  A treat!

In the bakery section they had the “buy one get one free” offer for fresh loaves of Rye bread.  We don’t usually stock Rye bread in our household, but I though I’d take advantage of the offer.  Why not?

Tonight’s dinner will feature pan-fried center cut pork chops with freshly made rye bread crumbs.  I’ll serve them alongside some good quality mustard, which will go over pretty well with my husband.  This is a super simple recipe – just a few ingredients and a quick meal is on the table in no time.

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs center cut pork chops (I used thin sliced)

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 large egg, beaten

1 1/2 cups fresh rye bread crumbs (I used 4 slices)

2 tbsp vegetable oil

Method

Tear rye bread into large pieces and pulse inside food processor until reduced to crumbs.  Place into shallow bowl.

Season chops with salt and pepper on both sides.

Set up your assembly line of the seasoned chops, beaten egg and then the bread crumbs.  Working one chop at a time, dip into beaten egg and then into rye bread crumbs (pressing gently to adhere).  Set aside onto a plate or platter.

Heat a tbsp of oil over medium heat in a 12-inch skillet.  When oil is hot, cook 3-4 of the chops at a time for 3 minutes each side.  Transfer to a clean platter. 

Use paper towel to clean skillet of any crumbs.  Add remaining 1 tbsp oil to skillet and fry remaining chops.

Serves 4

Note:  My kids are not super-fans of mustard (like their Mom) so they dipped their pork chops into apple sauce.

