Beef Stroganoff on a Bed of Tri-Color Pasta

Beef Stroganoff on a Bed of Tri-Color Pasta

Since settling into a new home or apartment always takes time (and truthfully, I’m at the six-week mark for our new home) I want to minimize time spent with weekly chores so I can finish up those last few boxes and get them out of our house.  Part of my weekly mantra is keeping grocery trips to once a week.   Monday is shopping day for me and it’s when I pick up the staples:  milk, eggs or fresh fruits and veggies and then work off of my weekly menu to pick up poultry, meat or other ingredients to create our dinners. 

I’ve heard it over and over again on the morning news programs and in magazines that one step we can all take to save money each month is to work off of a list and try not to deviate from it.  I know, it’s easier said than done especially if your tummy is grumbling while you’re shopping.  Of course there are other ways the experts have been sharing with us like clipping coupons, using loyaly cards, signing up for deals at coupon mom (featured on Oprah) and checking your local grocery store’s weekly ad.

Here is the dinner menu I’ve planned for this week.  I’ll be posting the recipes with photos over the next several days, so you can following along or try out the menu next week for your family.

Chicken with Mediterranian Salsa and Salad of Mixed Greens and Lemon Vinaigrette

Rye-Breaded Pork Chops and Homestyle Baked Beans

Beef Stroganoff on a Bed of Tri-Color Pasta and Herbed Green Beans

Scrambled Eggs with Parmagiano-Reggiano, Maple Glazed Bacon and Sliced Melon with Citrus-Honey Dressing

Pasta with Marinara Sauce and Beef Meatballs

Sloppy Joes on Whole Wheat Buns and Steak Fries

