Tags

, , ,

My Mom says that corn muffins are her favorite and they certainly help to fill seats around the breakfast table at my house.  I make corn muffins all the time for our family – usually on Sunday mornings. 

My kids don’t like a thing on them, while others slather on butter, jam or honey.  I have to admit I like them plain too, but when fresh berries are in season somehow you just want a way to include them at all breakfast gatherings (not to mention in desserts).  I’ll be posting a quick recipe for strawberry butter so look for that post shortly.

April and May 2009 100

April and May 2009 104

April and May 2009 106

Corn Muffins

Ingredients

1 cup flour (not self-rising)

1 cup cornmeal (I used Moss’ Plain White Fine Ground Corn Meal)

1/2 cup sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup milk

1/4 cup heavy cream

1 large egg, lightly beaten

Method

Preheat oven to 400.  Grease nine muffin cups in muffin tin. 

Using a whisk, combine first five ingredients in large mixing bowl.  Add butter and combine until crumbs form.

In a small mixing bowl, mix milk, heavy cream and egg.  Add milk mixture to dry ingredients and stir just until combined.

Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes just until turning light golden brown.

Yield: 9 delightful muffins

