Tags

, , ,

Rice Krispie Treats 001

Rice Krispie Treats 007

Rice Krispie Treats 008

Don’t Rice Krispie Treats remind you of class parties in elementary school?  It seems that some wonderful Mom was always bringing in Rice Krispie Treats for all of the class to enjoy.  I think Jello Jigglers ran a close second, but who didn’t love a plate of those sticky, marshmallowy  squares arriving for some party.   I think there’s also something wonderful about a recipe, however simple it may be, that evokes those childhood school memories and gives you some time in the kitchen with your kids.  It makes me think that they’ll look back on these times with fondness.

Here’s two things I love about this class recipe:  first, only 3 ingredients and second, everyone seems to love them.  So, for just a few dollars and a short prep time you’ve got a great dessert or an after-school snack. 

Since it is the day before Halloween we decided to get into the spooky spirit with our Rice Krispie Treats.  We topped ours with semi-sweet chocolate, which I melted in the microwave in 30-second intervals.  I stirred it a couple times and then placed it insde a small zipper top bag, snipped the corner off (don’t make the opening too big) and drizzled it over the top.  My kids loved sprinkling on orange and black sprinkles from Wilton.  Each square was then topped off with a black witch silhouette from Martha Stewart Crafts.    When you have very young children  it is helpful to plan a cooking project with quick prep time and almost immediate gratification, since there’s no baking time.  We had a great time measuring out the cereal and even my youngest carefully stirred the marshmallows and butter.  I’d even go so far as to say it was easier making these then when we sit down to make our Christmas cookies each December.

If you need a little refresher on how to make the Rice Krispie Treats then click here.  My kids are already looking forward to making them again!

