Tags

, , , ,

I know what you’re thinking…tomatoes in December?  Since I’m a huge fan of tomatoes I’m always making recipes that include them.  While I admit that tomatoes grown in your backyard during the summer are the absolute best you can still enjoy a great tomato salad in the winter months using grape tomatoes.  The color is fresh and the taste of this salad delicious and bright.   It’s reminciscent of those summer fresh tomatoes – though not quite the same, but still pretty tasty.

Who would have thought that through gentle urging from my Dad on how appeztizing tomatoes are, would have lead them to being a constant favorite.  I have a hard time admitting it to him, but I do love them and onions too (another of my Dad’s favorites).  I think I recall him saying something like: “They’re so sweet.  They’re just like candy.”  Shamefully, I’ve tried using that trick on my own children.

While typically I give you exact measurements on my recipes, I must admit that I through this together in my kitchen for company that was coming over on Sunday evening.  I just couldn’t look at another yam, potato or string bean.  So, be adventurous when you put this together.  I might also add that adding English cumcumber (small chop) would add more color and some crunch to finished salad.

Grape Tomato Salad

2 cups grape tomatoes, cut in half

1/2 cup red onion, diced

About a tablespoon or two of champagne vinegar

About 2 tablespoons of good quality extra-virgin olive oil

1 tbsp  fresh basil, roughly chopped

1/2 container, feta cheese (I bought it whole instead of crumbled and then cubed it)

Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

Method

Combine first 6 ingredients.  Taste and adjust seasonings with salt and pepper.  Garnish with whole basil leaves. 

Kitchen Note:  Besides adding in English cucumber, you could also add in cubed salami to make this salad more hearty.  Or, eliminate the feta and use bococcini.  You could also use other flavored vinegars to vary the taste.  It is very versatile.

