Tags

, , , ,

I suppose these are cookies but can also be considered candy. Whatever we call them thwere a big hit with my kids this past Christmas.  After several weeks of not posting I’m back and bringing just a little bit of post-Christmas cheer with me.  Here’s a 3-ingredient cookie (no baking involved, by the way) and takes just moments to make (not bake).  It’s instant “baking” gratification.

I think this could be a winner all year round.  My oldest helped to stir the cornflakes into the butterscotch-peanut butter mixture.   Though you’ll find millions of variations of this recipe on the internet, this is the one I grew up with and is perfect in its simplicity.  Do watch the heat/flame on your stove top as I don’t use a double-boiler to melt the chips.   Additionally, use Special K brand cereal or cornflakes, whichever you prefer.  Both will yield similar results.  Happy No-Baking!

Butterscotch-Peanut Butter Cornflake Cookies

Ingredients

6 ounces butterscotch chips

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

3 cups cornflakes

Method

In a heavy-bottomed sauce pan over low heat melt butterscotch chips.  Stir constantly and watch heat.  When chips are melted and smooth, remove from heat and add peanut butter.  Stir until peanut butter is incorporated.  Fold in cornflakes.  Drop by tablespoonful onto parchment lined baking pans (jellyroll pan).  Refrigerate until firm.  Transfer cookies to covered containers and store in refrigerator.

Yield: 4 dozen

