Alright, it’s been way too long since my last post so how about an easy recipe for a lighter-than-beef, turkey meatball.  This one’s a keeper and as with most of my recipes or those I highlight from other amazing cookbook authors and chefs, you can change it to suit your tastes or those of your family, such as leaving out the onion.

You know I’ve got one or two picky eaters in my household and if they’ll eat, so you will yours!

A quick note on torn bread versus fresh breadcrumbs.  I’ve always torn my bread and sometimes I use a combination of fresh breadcrumbs and torn bread (usually for beef/Italian sausage meatballs).  It seems that my Mom has always used torn bread and her Mom (my Nani) did as well.  Just one of those things that gets passed down in a family.  Do whatever works for you.  It certainly won’t affect your recipe, just the texture of your meatball.

And, if turkey isn’t your thing check out an earlier post for chicken meatballs.

Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients

2 large eggs

1/2 cup milk

4 slices of white bread, roughly torn into small, bite-sized pieces

1 tsp Kosher or coarse salt

1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper

1 small onion (or half of a medium), finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped

1/2 freshly grated Parmagiano-Reggiano Cheese

1 pound ground turkey

Method

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk eggs and milk together in large mixing bowl.  Add bread to bowl and mix so that bread is coated with egg-milk mixture.  Add next 6 ingredients and stir.  Add the turkey (I usually ditch the spoon at this point and switch to using my hands) and mix until turkey is incorporated.  Do not overmix.

Form the turkey mixture into 1 1/2-inch balls and place onto Silpat-lined baking sheet.  Bake until cooked through, about 30 minutes.

Yield: 6 servings

