Tags

, , , , ,

Seems like the tomatoes are non-stop this month from my garden.  Mind you I’m not complaining, but I’ve started to think creatively on how to use them all and not just in salads. 

It’s been so hot here in North Carolina but I still absolutely adore soup, even hot soup for lunch or dinner.  So I decided to roast these tomatoes along with some onions and garlic, to come up with a very flavorful tomato soup.  Although gazpacho seems more logical in the hot summer heat, this did hit the spot (while sitting in my air conditioned home).

Roasted Tomato Soup

Ingredients

2 1/2 lbs large, ripe tomaotes (I used Better Boy), cored, seeded and cut in half

1 medium-sized sweet onion (I used Vidalia), cut into chunks

3 garlic cloves

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

3 cups chicken stock or chicken broth

2 bay leaves

Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 325.  Line baking sheet with heavy duty aluminum foil.

Place tomatoes, onions and garlic on prepared baking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil, toss and spread out evenly.  Roast in oven for 1 1/2 hours.

Let tomatoes cool.  Remove skins and discard.  Transfer tomatoes, onions and garlic to stockpot.  Add chicken stock (or broth) and bay leaves.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 30 minutes with pot uncovered.  Remove bay leaves.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Working in batches, transfer soup to blender and process until smooth.  Return pureed soup to stockpot and heat over medium heat for 7-10 minutes or until heated through.

Serves: 4

