Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am always making chicken thighs for the hubby, who prefers those to any chicken breast recipe I’ve ever served.  In order to prepare dinner on this particular evening, I had to come up with something to use up this package of chicken thighs I had bought that morning and the green onions I had in my vegetable drawer.   There is something about a bundle of green onions, where you only need 2 or 3 and the rest go to waste.  Frustrating.

I usually purchase the boneless, skinless variety which everyone in the house seems to like, they cook rather fast in the oven and bonus, they are a little lighter in the calorie department.  The “no marinate-marinade” I prepared would work beatifully with chicken breasts if you already have those.  I also think you could turn up the heat with some Chinese Five Spice powder.

Asian Sesame Chicken Thighs

Ingredients

6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs

4 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp worcestershire sauce

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp refined sugar

3 garlic cloves, finely minced

3 tbsp onion, finely minced

1/2 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted

2 green onion, sliced on the bias

Method

Wash chicken and pat dry.  Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl,  blend soy sauce with the next 5 ingredients.  Add chicken and mix to coat.  Place chicken in a shallow baking dish.  Turn once half-way through cooking time.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Top chicken with toasted sesame seeds and slice green onion before serving.

Yield: 3-4 servings

