Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Lately, I feel caught between two seasons.  A beautiful array of mums and pumpkins greet me each time I head into my local grocery store which makes me crave some fall dishes.  However, it’s been blazing hot in North Carolina (probably an understatement) and there are still some lingering and delicious reminders of beautiful summer produce such as local corn and fresh basil (grown by yours truly).  I found a farm stand that sold me 4 ears for $1 and the bell pepper (which was half red and half green) came from my CSA, Papa Spuds.  Those 4 ingredients were married with olive oil, unsalted butter and salt and pepper for a very simple side dish. 

Yes, I’ve been blogging away about butternut squash and other things fall, but the local, fresh corn is so delicious (and they weather still warm) you can’t help but still enjoy some of the last days of summer.  If you don’t have basil, a little fresh thyme or Italian (flat leaf) parsley would do well in its place.

Fresh Corn Saute

Ingredients

About 1 1/2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

1 small shallot, minced

1 small bell pepper, small chop

2 tbsp unsalted butter

4 ears of corn, kernels cut from the cob

Kosher salt and fresh grond black pepper

About 8 leaves of fresh basil, julienned

Method

Heat large saute pan over medium heat.  When hot, add olive oil.  Add the minced shallot and saute for 3-5 minced, until shallot is transparent.  Add the bell pepper and saute for 2 to 3 minutes.  Add the butter to the pan.  When melted, add the corn and season to taste with salt and black pepper.  Stir corn mixture occasionally and cook for about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in the basil.  Taste and adjust seasonings, if needed.

Serves: 4

