Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Actually, it’s a longer title when you add in “yellow squash.”  I’m sure I’ve posted before about being loyal to Papa Spuds which delivers fresh (really fresh) produce to my door for a great, recession-friendly price and from many local farmers here in North Carolina.  If you live in the Raleigh area, you can sign up at www.papaspuds.com.  For this week’s delivery I saw that zucchini and yellow summer squash were available and I added them into my order.  While it’s no longer summer I do sometimes long for those fabulous summer veggies (tomatoes fall into that category).  While it’s so much cheaper to buy them in-season somtimes a girl needs her summer squash.  Think zucchini bread, muffins, squash casserole.  Oh, you get the idea.

While I still couldn’t quite get my boys to try it, my oldest appreciated the Crayola colors of these green and yellow gems.  He even went so far as to say we should grow them next year in our vegetable garden, but finished up by saying very clearly that he still would not eat them.  Okay.  I get it.

Roasted Zucchini and Yellow Squash with Garlic and Thyme

Ingredients

1/2 lb zucchini

1/2 lb yellow squash

2 garlic cloves, minced

2-3 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

1 tsp dried thyme

Kosher salt

Method

Step 1:  Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.

Step 2:  Cut each squash length-wise twice (you’ll end up with 4 spears) and then in half.

Step 3.  Place squash on baking sheet (I put a silpat down first), flesh-side up.

Step 4:  Mix olive oil with minced garlic in small bowl.

Step 5:  Drizzle garlic-oil mixture over squash, sprinkle with thyme and place in upper one third of oven.

Step 6:  Roast for about 15 minutes.  Edge will begin to brown.  Season to taste with Kosher salt.

Serves:  4

