Tags

, , , ,

Our almost-White Christmas.

I’ve promised myself that I wouldn’t feel guilty for not posting on my blog in weeks (that’s probably the equivalent of months or years in the blogging world), but I still feel a little guilty.  Christmas was a total whirlwind with one kiddo sick but still loving every minute of it, an almost-white Christmas, pine needles everywhere (next year, a fake tree for sure) and just putting all of the decor away last weekend.  That’s right, at least I got it out of the house before Valentine’s Day.  Victory!

Christmas dinner was a super easy Roast Loin of Pork, which was a throw-together recipe but those always seem to turn out the best don’t they?  I’ll share the marinade below, but beware…the measurements are a little loose so just toss it together and you’ll be fine.

The day after Christmas I made a hash from the leftover Roast Pork and topped it with an egg over easy.  Loved it!  Once again, I used what I had in the frig and pulled from the bowls of vegetables on the counter.  Again, you’ll have to throw caution to the wind as I share just the ingredients, but there won’t be a real recipe posted here.  The best part of it is that the pork is fully cooked so you’ll just be warming it after you’ve prepped and cooked the veggies.  It’s just a great way to use that leftover meat after a large meal.

 

Balsamic-Rosemary Roast Loin of Pork

3/4cup balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp fresh, chopped rosemary (leaves only)

4 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Enough olive oil to make a vinaigrette

Method

Place first three ingredients into a small bowl.  Add olive oil and whisk to create a vinaigrette.  Sprinkle salt and pepper generously on all sides of roast.  Place roast into a zipper-top bag.  Add vinaigrette (marinade).  Refrigerate approximately 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Remove roast from marinade and place in roasting pan and cook for about 50 minutes or until a meat thermometer registers 150 degrees.  Let meat rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

The reserved marinade may be put into a saucepan and brought to a boil.  Simmer for about 10 minutes and then pour over sliced pork.

Roast Loin of Pork Hash with Eggs Over Easy

Here’s what I used in my hash:  4-6 Yukon Gold potatoes (cubed and par-boiled), 1 orange bell pepper, 1 green bell pepper, 1 medium Vidalia onion, and a little extra virgin olive oil to quickly saute all of the veggies in 12-inch skillet.  Lastly, I added the cubed pork loin and stirred it into the vegetables just as long as it took to bring up the temperature.  Remember, it was already cooked the day before for Christmas dinner.  In a separate pan, I prepared an egg over easy and then topped the individual servings of pork hash with the egg.  I then garnished with sliced scallions.

By the way, if you’re a little puzzled on how to prepare an egg over easy, check out this neat little video by Chef George Weld of the restaurant Egg in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, NY.

Well, there you have it.  I hope you’ll try making a hash yourself.  Why not personalize it and add in what you have in your refrigerator and veggie bowls?  You’ll have a hearty breakfast or dinner for sure.

