Tags

, , , , ,

Is everything coming up blueberries for you?  {Me too!}

I just adore those summer berries and blueberries haven’t even hit their peak yet.  So while they’re in the grocery store and somewhat reasonably priced it behooves us to try a few dishes with them, right?

But, before I get to today’s recipe (and it’s amazing and easy, I assure you), I wanted to share a little love on these summer beauties. 

I spent many summers in Maine picking wild blueberries with my Dad.  Incidentally, that’s where 98% of wild blueberries grow in this country.  Must love that Maine soil.

And, speaking of Maine I bet you’ve read the classic children’s book Blueberries For Sal by Robert McCloskey.  I had to make sure it was on my children’s book shelf after they were born.

I have many, many idyllic memories of summers spent in Maine.  My older brother and I have spoken over the years about time spent up there as young children and trying to remember various aspects of Maine life.  Of course, picking wild berries (raspberries and blueberries) is something I remember fondly.  Whatever we didn’t eat, Mom made into jam.  {Just delicious.}

 

Here is one more image of those famed Maine wild blueberries before we get to the recipe.  Looking up all these images of blueberries and oh my, there are any number of spectacular images on the web, it makes me want to get to Maine.  And, we haven’t even discussed lobsters yet.

Has anyone out there spent their summers in Maine?  What are your memories?

Oh, and let me apologize for these photos.  They were taken pre-camera-for-Christmas-gift-from-hubby.  Can you tell?  Ugghh.

The recipe for Amanda’s Blueberry Cofee Cake was taken from celebrate! by Sheila Lukins.  And, I would not recommend it to you if I didn’t think it was worth adding to your cookbook collection.  I’m working on a post about this celebrated chef/founder of The Silver Palate.  I have several of her books and this 2003 work is {yummy}.

Amanda’s Blueberry Coffee Cake

Ingredients

12 tbsp cold, unsalted butter cut into small pieces

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 larg egg

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries, picked over, lightly rinsed and patted dry

1/4 cup light or dark brown sugar (packed)

Confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Method

Position a rack in the center of the oven, and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter a 9-inch springform pan.

Combine the flour, sugar, salt and 10 tbsp of the butter in a bowl and mix with an electric mixer until it resembles coarse meal, about 1 minute.  Remove 1 cup of this mixture from the bowl and set it aside for the topping.

Add the baking powder and baking soda to the remaining mixture in the bowl and stir to combine.  With the mixer running on low speed, mix in the buttermilk until combined, followed by the egg and vanilla.  Then mix the ingredients for 1 minute on high speed to aerate the batter.

Fold in the blueberries, using a rubber spatula.  Scrape the batter into the prepared pan.

Place the reserved 1 cup topping mixture in a bowl and add the brown sugar and remaining 2 tbsp butter.  Mix with your fingertips until crumbly.  Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the cake batter.  Bake until a wooden toothpick inserted in the ceter comes out clean, 1 hour to 1 hour and 10 minutes.

Allow the cake to cool in the pan on a wire rack for 20 minutes.  Then carefully remove the sides of the springform pan and place the cake on a serving plate.  Just before serving, sprinkle the top with confectioners’ sugar.

