Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Here’s a simple recipe that just, well…peachy. 

{Sorry, I couldn’t resist.}

It’s also just 6 ingredients so you can’t beat it for summer entertaining.

Here’s what I love about this recipe:  make it any way you or your family would like.  What do I mean by that?  Simply alter it to fit your tastes.  As you scroll through this post, you’ll see a photo of fresh cilantro.  For some that’s a deal-breaker.  Just leave it out. Perhaps you’re a garlic lover.  I didn’t put any in mine, but you may want to mince a couple of cloves and incorporate it into your finished salsa.  Sometimes, I’ll add in a minced bell pepper or even a chopped and seeded tomato.

You see?  It is {totally versatile}.

5 Ways with Peach Mango Salsa

1. Serve with grilled chicken

2. Serve with grilled salmon

3. Serve with grilled or pan-fried tilapia

4. Incorporate the salsa into a wrap

5. With a selection of tortilla chips

I’d love to hear your ideas for a great summer salsa.  Anyone make fruit salsas?

Cut an “x” the bottom of each piece using a sharp paring knife.  Then drop into the boiling water.  You’ll want to let them boil for about 30 seconds for ripe peaches.

The peaches get plunged into an ice-water bath to stop the cooking process.  Once they’ve cooled you’ll be able to easily remove the skin.

I wanted to show you how I prepped the onion to get nicely chopped pieces.  After removing the papery skin, I cut it in half (leaving the ends intact).  I made evenly spaced slices but was careful not to cut all the way through.  Then I cut a slice in the center of the onion (parallel with your cutting board), guiding the knife back toward the root.  Again, you do not want to cut all the way through. 

Finally, I cut top to bottom working my way back toward the root.  This technique yields consistent pieces of chopped onion, which is a lot prettier in a salsa than looking at a lot of tiny pieces and a few large ones.  Also, I don’t know anyone that wants a big piece of raw onion to bite into.

I used fresh, sliced mango from Whole Foods to speed up my salsa making.

A palm-ful of fresh cilantro, chopped and then the juice of one (room temperature) lime.

I served mine with tortilla chips.  Super refreshing during a hot, summer day or evening and just a few ingredients for a fresh tasting, low in fat snack.

Peach Mango Salsa

Ingredients

1 cup fresh peaches, chopped and skin removed

1 cup fresh mango, chopped

1/2 red onion, small chop

1-2 fresh jalapenos, minced (Iremoved the seeds)

a palm-ful of fresh cilantro, chopped

juice from one lime

Method

Prepare peaches by using method described above.  Remove from ice-water bath and chop, being careful to remove any bits of the pit.  Add to mixing bowl.  Add next 5 ingredients and combine. 

 

