Tags

, , , , ,

{Happy Monday!}  As promised over the weekend, here is my recipe for Blueberry Salsa.  My in-laws were visiting from the west coast last week and I was trying out the peach mango salsa on them and then made this salsa.  Because my father-in-law is not so keen on fiery-hot foods, I kept the heat down but you can make it as hot as you like.

 

Is there anything more delicious in the summer than fresh berries?

For step-by-step instructions on how to uniformly dice an onion, click here.

Here is the finished blueberry salsa in all it’s glory.  It was so simple to prepare.  Do you love the color blue?  Check out this  fun post.

Not a member of the cilantro lover’s club?  Leave it out.  Want a lot more heat?  Try a pinch of cayenne.    Like it a little sweeter?  Try adding fresh ginger and perhaps some fresh basil (omit the cilantro).

What do you think about fruit salsas?  I’m just amazed at the number of delicious recipes I’m seeing out there in blog land for fruit salsa.  I love how adaptable salsa recipes are in general.

{Scroll down for how to make blueberry salsa}

I’m going to be delving into some corn recipes this week and next.  I’m starting to see fresh corn at the farm stands around town and in our markets.  Stay tuned for those posts and recipes.

Blueberry Salsa

Ingredients

2 cups fresh blueberries, rinsed and stems removed

1/4 cup red bell pepper, diced

1/4 cup red onion, diced

1 jalapeno, minced (I removed the seeds)

zest and juice of 1 lime

a palmful of fresh, chopped cilantro

Kosher salt to taste

Method

Coarsely chop blueberries and add to mixing bowl.  Add next 5 ingredients.  Add salt and taste.  Adjust seasonings.  Refrigerate for 2 hours.  Serve with tortilla chips or with fresh, broiled fish or grilled chicken.

This morning I’m linking to

Muffin Monday over at Talking Dollars and Sense

and

Mingle Monday over at Add A Pinch

 

