Tags

, , , ,

In celebration of the first second day of summer, I went out to my garden and picked a juicy, cherokee purple tomato, snipped some fresh basil, purchased a jar of  Duke’s mayonnaise and put together a tomato sandwich for my lunch.

I’m not sure if it was a southerner who first came up with such a heavenly creation, but since I live in the south…I’m going to give them all the credit.

My tomato garden is just beginning to come in and in fact, I shared some photos here.

 Duke’s mayo, fresh basil, kosher salt, black pepper lemon juice and olive oil ready to become: Basil Mayonnaise.

It took just a few moments to whisk together the ingredients.  This is one of those simple recipes that you just know is going to taste good.

I know you’re looking at that sandich with the mayo just beginning to peak out over the crust and you’re wishing you could take a bite.  It was that good.  

I purchased the bread from La Farm Bakery in Cary.  It’s an authentic French bakery, which has been featured in Food & Wine Magazine.  I {love} their signature La Farm loaf which is a sour dough.  It’s amazing.

Tomato Sandwich with Basil Mayonnaise

Ingredients

1 cup mayonnaise (I used Duke’s)

15 basil leaves

1 tsp Kosher salt

1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

2 slices fresh bread (I used sour dough)

1 fresh tomato

Method

Whisk together mayonnaise and next 6 ingredients.  Slather mayonnaise onto both pieces of sour dough bread.  Slice fresh tomato and place onto bread.  Top with remaining slice of sour dough.

Adapted from a recipe by Ina Garten

 

