Tags

, , ,

We’ve been busy here with lots of family flying in from the west coast, dining out nearly everyday (not so many dishes to clean at night…yippee!), baseball, swimming lessons, more baseball and lots and lots tomatoes.

In the midst of multiple houseguests (see, there really is an excuse for not blogging), I managed to finally try to try the slow roasted tomato recipe I discussed here.

I headed right out to my garden to pick these tomatoes.  Don’t you just love walking outside to pick your food?

As you can see, I used a variety from the garden: yellow cherries, sweet 100 and yellow pear tomatoes just waiting to be roasted in the oven.

I loved how they looked sitting on the Silpat before I put them into the oven and they were even more delicious after being roasted.

I can see putting a few of these atop some herbed goat cheese on little toasted french bread, tossed into a salad of fresh arugula or as part of your antipasti platter.

One thing to consider with adding olive oil before you place your baking sheet in the oven…I would advise gently tossing the tomato halves with just a scant amount of olive oil in a bowl and then spreading them out on your baking sheet.

I found this recipe at Smitten Kitchen and it was as easy as pre-heating your oven to 225 degrees, slicing the washed & dried tomatoes in half, drizzling with a really good quality olive oil and roasting them for nearly 3 hours.

And, since I can’t seem to figure a smooth transition from slow-roasted tomatoes to a birthday celebration, I’ll just tell you that my oldest celebrated his 9th birthday and he had the best day with his friends and family.

But speaking of tomatoes and my baseball playing kiddo, I can assure you there was absolutely no way he was going to sample these. He may have even mentioned something that sounded like, “What are those, Mom?” (in a sort of grossed out tone of voice, which 9 year-olds ar totally proficient at using).

I hope your July is going well and it’s slow and easy like all summer months should be.  For you gardeners, what are you making with all those tomatoes this month?

