Tags

, , , ,

Do you adore the way your home smells when bread is baking in your oven?  I sure do.  It doesn’t seem to matter what type of bread is in the oven for that matter.  In the fall and winter, I make plenty of beer bread and even my husband will peer around the corner to tell me it smells good.

This recipe features an easy way to make a quick bread using two of my favorite vegetables:  zucchini and carrots.  I confess that I thought my kids would enjoy it as well and it makes me feel better that they are eating veggies in some form.  Yes, yes I know there’s sugar in it, but we moms still have to give ourselves a little credit when we see them “eating their vegetables,” right?

Just in case you may be scratching your head about now and wondering what the heck is a quick bread anyway?  Well, it’s a bread that is made without yeast and uses some other type of leavening agent to make it rise such as baking powder, baking soda or even cream of tartar.  There is no proofing.  No rising.  And they come together quick with near-perfect results every time.

Here is the one zucchini I’ve grown this summer with some young carrots I picked up at the farmer’s market near our home.  I’m puzzled about this zucchini plant.  It’s flourishing, I see those beatiful flowers and then just one zucchini has emerged so far.  Hmmm…

Does anyone have any ideas of what to do with the feathery carrot tops, by the way?

Many quick bread recipes call for white sugar, but I love the flavor of brown sugar and that it gives a caramel-y hue to the finished bread.  You can certainly replace the brown sugar with white if you prefer.

It take just seconds to incorporate the brown sugar and the rest of the dry ingredients into the flour.

After whisking the eggs with the oil, add the shredded zucchini and carrots.

For extra crunch and a little more sweetness, I added shredded coconut.  {LOVE}.

And just in case you are on a roll this lovely Sunday with baking quick breads, you can whip up a loaf of banana bread using this recipe.  It’s one of my all-time favorites and yields one moist and delicious quick bread.

Zucchini-Carrot Bread with Coconut

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

2 large eggs

6 tbsp vegetable oil

2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup grated carrots

3/4 cup grated zucchini

1/3 cup shredded coconut

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

Method

Pre-heat oven to 350 and grease one loaf pan.

In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

In a separate large mixing bowl, beat eggs and then add oil, vanilla, zucchini and carrots.  Mixture will be stiff.  Fold in coconut and walnuts.  Spoon into prepared loaf pan.

Bake for 45 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool 15 minutes on wire rack before removing from loaf pan.  Cool to room temperature before slicing.

Yield: 1 loaf

