Tags

, , , , ,

Even as I’m typing this post I’m thinking of what to do with the rest of the arugula…pesto, maybe?

Tonight, my kids are with my Mom for a sleepover.  Wow, they are so excited.  You’d think I said we were stopping by their favorite ice cream shop for a no-holds-barred ice cream fest on our way there.  They love to spend the night at her home.  She makes them dinner, they watch a movie together.  She almost always has something tasty for dessert (tonight it’s brownies) and she’ll make them something yummy for breakfast.  They’re in kid heaven.

Since I was off the hook on preparing a big dinner (my husband will be home late), I thought I’d prepare a light, no-cooking-involved dinner for myself.

Did I mention it’s hot here and we’re approaching triple digits tomorrow?  I’ll be in the air conditioning of course but 101 is hot!

I just love citrus fruit,  and incorporating it into a quick vinaigrette is so easy.

After I zested one lemon, one lime and one orange I quickly gave it a rough chop with my knife.

I used a clean, empty canning jar from my pantry to measure all of the ingredients into.  After securing the lid tightly I gave it a good shake and presto: citrus vinaigrette.  My youngest decided he needed to stir something, so I gave him a mini whisk and he carefully stirred.

I paired my finished arugula salad with fresh bread and a small-ish glass of wine.

I used the yellow pear tomatoes from my garden and some thinly sliced red onion with the arugula.  It was a light salad and the vinaigrette was just right.

When my husband gets home, I’m going to make it a bit more hearty with the addition of cannellini beans, chopped salami and pecorino shavings.  I think he’s going to love it.

And, please pardon the arugula salad recipe.  It was a toss it together kind of thing and I am sure that you all can thow together any manner of great tasting salads (arugula or other leafy greens).  Oh, and don’t forget.  I’m searching for one or two ideas (recipes if you have them) for what to make with my remaining arugula.  There seems to be plenty.

Citrus Vinaigrette

Ingredients

zest and juice of 1 lemon, 1 lime and 1 orange

1/2 cup good quality olive oil

a pinch or two of sugar

sea salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

Method

Add all ingredients to a jar with a tight-fitting lid.  Secure lid and shake jar vigorously.  Taste and adjust seasonings if needed.

Arugula Salad for One

About 2 cups arugula

3 thin slices of red onion, cut in half

8 yellow pear tomatoes, washed, dried and cut in half

Method

Add salad ingredients to dish and finish with citrus vinaigrette.

