Tags

, ,

Yes, yes I know I’m 8 days late on posting about Independance Day, but I never told myself {or you} that I was one of those on-the-ball bloggers.  Oh, how I strive to be one of those gals…sigh.

We celebrated with our family who were visiting from Southern California and there was tons of food, fireworks, a few thunderstorms and plenty of silliness and laughter.  I’m smiling just thinking about it.  The only one in our house who seemed to be not enjoying herself was Abby, our dog.

We’ve had a little tradition going here for the last 2 summers of holding our own fireworks show out in the cul-de-sac in front of our home.  Our kids look forward to it every summer and this year was no exception.  My in-laws buy them at a roadside tent and my husband is in charge of lighting them.  We set up chairs to watch and it really is fun.  My mother-in-law and I do a lot of ohhing and ahhing and there is even applause at the end of the show.    I think next year we may even up the wow factor by adding patriotic music.  I may put myself in charge of that.

{What more could you ask for on the 4th of July?}

There were also plenty of tomato sandwiches not just on that day, but for several days leading up to the 4th.  My in-laws didn’t say anything, but they might have been a little fed-up tired of seeing these at the lunch table.

 I think this has become my new summertime lunch favorite.  My husband would tell you that 4 or 5 slices of bacon would make this perfect, but I think he’s in the minority here in the south.  What do you think?

Speaking of tomato sandwiches, I stumbled across this blog while wasting time searching on the internet and it’s called Chloe’s Blog from Big Mill.  Chloe is Chloe Tuttle who is the innkeeper of Big Mill Bed and Breakfast in Williamston, North Carolina.  She has the most fun post about tomato sandwiches, Duke’s mayonnaise and how to put together the perfect tomato sandwich.  You will fall in love with her glorious photos (you may even want to plan a stay at Big Mill).

This morning I’m linking up to Mingle Monday at Add A Pinch and Summer Menu at It’s A Blog Party.

