Tags

, ,

I know, I know you’re intrigued by this morning’s blog post title.  You may even be wondering:  “What is she talking about with two b’s?”  Or not.

Right now This summer, our life revolves around travel baseball and our oldest son’s growing passion for the game.  This “I want to play baseball everyday” feeling, which of course my husband is thoroughly enjoying, also takes up quite a bit of time.  However, it dawned on me that when it’s over (and with one more scheduled tournament it really will be over), I’m going to miss it and seeing him on the field.

The funny thing I’ve discovered as a fan and a parent is I don’t just get excited when our son gets a hit or makes a great play, I get excited for all the other boys as well.  Case in point, our catcher caught a throw in yesterday’s game (Who made the throw…well, I can’t really remember that part!), and got out the player running from third.  It doesn’t happen too often with 8 year-old boys, but when it does it is so exciting (for the catcher, of course) for the team and the fans.

Because y’all are so smart I bet you’ve figured out that one of the “b’s” is baseball.

{I bet some of you have obsessed baseball players in your home too.}

The other “b” I’ve been working on this summer is blogging.  I have to admit that when I look at daily posts from other cooking or decorating blogs I am almost intimidated by the regularity of those posts and the commitment of the authors to their blogs.  But, for the sake of keeping all things in balance if you don’t see a post from me for a few days, I bet you can guess where I am….

{See above photos for hints!}

After returning from this weekend’s tournament I spied something in the fruit basket on our island….very ripe bananas.  This could mean only one thing:  banana bread.  However, I went with muffins this morning and added in poppyseeds.   But, if you’re a purist do check out my one-bowl banana bread recipe.  It does not dissapoint.

One final word on “two b’s.”  As I’ve discoverd, but my husband has known since he was a little kid, baseball {as in any sport} is all about the knicknames.  For my little slugger, his coach gave him the knickname of “Two B’s.”  At first, my son paused because he didn’t quite get it.  Then suddenly he realized that those were his initials.  {smile}

Banana Poppyseed Muffins

I like to mix the dry ingredients using a medim-sized wire whisk.

Using a fork to mash four ripe bananas.

Finally, I added 3/4 tbsp of poppy seeds to the batter.

I lightly sprayed a 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray.  Yes, I’m using a stoneware pan from Pampered Chef.

Out of the oven after 20 minutes of baking in a 400 degree oven.

Banana Poppyseed Muffins Recipe

Ingredients

1 3/4 cup flour

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 cup mashed rip banana (about 4 bananas)

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup half and half

1/3 cup vegetable oil

3/4 tbsp poppy seeds

Method

Combine first 4 ingredients in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Combine egg, banana, vanilla, half and half and oil in a separate, mixing bowl.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients stirring just until blended.  Fold in poppy seeds.  Do not over mix.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.  Use a small metal spatula to go around the perimeter of each muffin cup before turning out and letting cool on a wire rack.

Yield: 12 muffins

This morning I’m linking to Mingle Monday at Add A Pinch.

