Tags

, ,

I’d say this recipe is somewhere between a flat breadstick and a cheese straw.  They are relatively easy to make and there is no yeast and no kneading the dough.  I know that could be a deal-breaker for some of you.  When they come out of the oven, you’ll end up with a light and crunchy breadstick to serve alongside your dinner.

And, if you have a fluted pastry wheel that has found its way into the back corner of your kitchen gadgets drawer, now’s the time to dig it out.

This is a fluted pastry wheel…just in case you were scratching your head when I mentioned it a moment ago.  I bust this little guy out about 3 times a year.

So to recap…not too much effort but a definite pay off.  You also get 4 dozen so pop some in the freezer for another night.

You’ll want to freshly grate your Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese for this recipe.  I use my Mouli grater, which I believe was a stocking stuffer one year from my Mama.  Leave it to the kitchn to do a neat little post on Mouli graters.   We use ours at the dinner table and my kids love grating their own cheese.

Start with the freshly grated cheese, melted butter and sour cream in the bowl of your stand mixer and beat well

You can probably just faintly make out that I’ve made a line down the center of the dough indicating where I’m going to divide it in half.  You’ll roll out each half separately on a lightly floured board.

I used a clear ruler to mark off the 12 x 7-inch rectangle and used a pastry wheel to cut it and then the strips.

Use your pastry wheel to cut the 1/2-inch strips.  After this, just give each strip a few twists and layout on your baking sheet.  As usual, I used a Silpat on my baking sheet.

You’re not looking for perfection here (at least I wasn’t).  Just give them a couple of twists and then lay them down on your baking sheet.  You’re ready to brush them with an egg wash and sprinkle with the remaining grated cheese.

This baking sheet was ready to go into a 350 degree oven for about 11-12 minutes.

You can serve these alongside so many things, the obvious being with pasta and homemade marinara sauce.  My kids loved them and I can’t always say that with everything I make. {That’s the truth!}

Parmesan Twists

Ingredients

1/4 cup butter, melted

1 cup grated Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup flour

1 egg yolk, lighly beaten

1 tbsp water

1 tbsp grated Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese

Method

Combine butter, 1 cup cheese, and sour cream, beating well at medium speed with electric stand mixer.  Gradually add flour to butter mixture, beating until smooth.

Turn dough out onto a lightly foured surface; divide dough in half.  Roll 1 portion of dough into a 12- x 7-inch rectangel, and cut into 6- x 1/2-inch strips.

Twist each strip 2 or 3 times, and place on greased baking sheets.  Repeat with remaining dough.

Combine egg yolk and water.  Brush strips with egg mixture; sprinkle with caraway seeds or cheese.  Bake at 350 degreese for 11-12 minutes or until lightly browned.

Yield: 4 dozen

Recipe adapted from The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook.

This afternoon I’m linking to Mingle Monday at Add A Pinch.

