Tags

, , , ,

I totally {heart} potatoes.  And so does my husband, which brings me to today’s post and another version of his our fav side dish.  One of the reasons I always gravitate toward making potatoes is that my husband will eat them.  Simple, right?

When I make something else, such as roasted carrots, roasted Brussel sprouts or a foodie-version of green beans.  Well  uh, he’s just not that interested.  He once told me that he was a “meatatarian” and as such, he only likes meat and potatoes.  Hmmm…I recall not really having a response (this was back in the 90’s when we were dating).  I think I was hoping he’d have a bit more sophisticated palette, but no such luck.  It’s ok; Rome wasn’t build in a day.

So, here’s another potato side dish in honor of my meatatarian.

I picked up two pounds of red potatoes from Trader Joes (I swear they don’t pay me any money to keep mentioning them).  I used 1 1/2 lbs of these potatoes.  Basically, a bag and a half which I washed and patted dry.

A couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary which I washed and minced.  Two garlic cloves minced along with Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper were used to flavor these potatoes.  Minced, fresh flat leaf parsley brightens the flavor of the potatoes just before serving.

I used some of the leftover potatoes as part of a salad I made myself for lunch today.  {Delicious}

Garlic-Rosemary Red Potatoes

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs small red potatoes

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves, finely minced

2 tsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped

1 tbsp fresh flat leaf parsley, chopped

Kosher salt

Fresh ground black pepper

Method

Place the washed potatoes in a medium saucepan with water to cover. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to a simmer, and cook until barely tender, about 20 minutes.  Drain.  If not already small, cut them into 1-inch chunks.

Heat the butter and olive oil in a large frying pan.  Add the potatoes and cook, tossing occasionally, for 10-15 minutes, or until well browned, adding the garlic for the last 2 to 3 minutes of cooking.  Add the rosemary and toss for a minute longer.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Add chopped parsley and toss.

Serves 4

Recipe adapted from Nathalie Dupree Cooks Great Meals.  You can read more about this amazing cookbook author here.

