Tags

, , , ,

As promised in yesterday’s post I wanted to share how I poach boneless chicken breasts.  Your primary goal is to not end up with rubbery and/or dried out chicken.  If that sounds familiar, then this technique is for you.

{Read On}

 

I almost always poach more chicken than I need for a particular recipe.  I used two of the poached breasts for Chicken Spaghetti Casserole with Baby Portabellas and the remaining two will be used to make chicken salad.

You can use nearly any combination of flavorings that you can come up dream up.  I used 1 bay leaf, 1 unpeeled garlic clove, about 1/4 tsp whole black peppercorns and 1 tsp of Kosher salt.  I also used celery and the leaves.  I cut about 3 inches off the top of a bunch of celery.

I added about 1/4 cup of white wine that I had opened a day or two before I poached the chicken.  It’s a great way to use a little leftover wine from your refrigerator.  No need for a measuring cup just add about 1/4 cup.  Finally, add enough water to completely cover the chicken (and the flavorings) and place on your stove top over high heat.

After the poached chicken had cooled I shredded it using two forks and of course, my fingers.  The two breasts yielded about 2 1/2 cups of shredded chicken.

Poached chicken is great to use in casseroles, chicken salad, tacos, enchiladas, sandwiches and pretty much any recipe you can think of.

{Read on for the step by step technique…it’s so simple, really.}

How to Poach Chicken

Ingredients

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, washed and patted dry

any combination of flavorings (see above for what I used)

1/4 cup white wine

enough water to cover the chicken breasts

Method

Place rinsed chicken breasts into large stock pot.  Add flavorings, wine and then enough water to cover the chicken breasts.

Set stock pot over high heat and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 4 minutes (if the water boils for 4 minutes you’ll get a rubbery texture when you remove the chicken).  Cover stock pot and remove from heat.  Let stand for 30 minutes covered.  Remove chicken breasts to platter, loosely cover with foil and allow to cool.  When cool enough to handle, use the tines of two forks to shred the chicken.

