Tags

, , , , ,

Are you like me and you’re wilting in the hot summer sun?  We’ve been experiencing quite a few 100 degree days and my garden is struggling to stay alive {in fact, it’s quite wilted}.  Even heading outside to pick up the mail, I’ve got my Tervis tumbler filled with ice water to stay cool.    It sounds so wimpy, but totally necessary.

At this point, I’m looking for ways to beat the heat, minimize being in the kitchen (especially with opening and closing a hot oven) and dreaming of cooler days, fall-like weather and maybe even a pumpkin or two.

Here are a few ideas for no-cook recipes that you can add to your summer repertoire.  And, check out some of my other stay cool ideas below.

I like the idea of pairing Peach Mango Salsa with grilled chicken that I can pick up from my local Whole Foods.  While you’re there pick up the already-cut-mango in the produce aisle to simplify the prep in the kitchen.

By now your summer garden is bursting with fresh tomatoes.  Why not pick up some bread and prepare a tomato sandwich?  Prepare your sandwich with a recipe for basil mayonnaise.  It’s hard to improve on a perennial summer favorite, but the addition of the basil mayonnaise may do just that.

I’m taking advantage of the fresh berries while they are still in season.  It’s really the only time of year to feature them in a classically simple summer salad along with homemade Poppy Seed Dressing.  You can add grilled chicken to make this into a heartier meal.

Peppery arugula paired with fresh from your garden tomatoes and a little red onion is so quick and simple.  Pair this with homemade Citrus Vinaigrette for a light and refreshing addition to your dinner table.  In addition, Pan-seared salmon is quick to prepare and a nice accompaniment to this salad.

Why not consider turning your left-over arugula into a pesto?  Toss it with some hot pasta and pair it with some good bread from your local bakery and you’ll have a nice summertime meal in no time.

{Here are a handful of my beat-the-heat, stay cool ideas}

I have been wanting one of the Zoku Quick Pop makers ever since I saw it in my Williams-Sonoma catalog a couple of years ago.  This thing is genius, although I bet it will take some practice getting them to look as pro as the pic above.  Apparently, all it takes is 7 minutes and you’ve got yourself a tasty frozen treat.  Check out Zoku’s blog for recipes and inspiration.

Honestly, I had no idea what a Tervis Tumbler was until I moved to North Carolina.  It’s a southern staple here and yes, it really does keep your drinks cool.  There are a million designs on their website, including monograms, professional sports teams, and really any possible theme (hunting, bride and groom, Disney characters) you can imagine.  My boys picked out a {Best Dad Ever} tumbler as part of their Father’s Day gift for their Dad.  I love the Lemonade Tervis above that includes the recipe.  Perfect for summer!

I love these Lemon and Lime shaped ice-cube trays from Amazon.  How cute would these little cubes be in a glass of lemonade or iced tea?

And finally, my most favorite frozen yogurt in the whole world:  pinkberry.  If you’ve never heard of it or tasted it, you just don’t know what you’re missing.  Pinkberry created quite a stir when it first opened in West Hollywood in 2005.  Now they are franchised and located all over the US (and internationally), but sadly none in my little corner of the world.  Just looking at this watermelon yogurt makes me swoon and {sigh}.

{What are you doing to beat the heat this summer?}

Stay cool this summer,

