Tags

, , , , , ,

I have to admit that the combination of yogurt, fresh fruit and granola is one of my favorite meals for breakfast.  I’ll look for it on restaurant menus when we’re dining out or on vacation and I love to prepare it at home for myself.    This is simple simple simple to make for you and your family.  And, unlike other granola recipes there aren’t tons of ingredients so you can probably go to your pantry right now and you’ll have everything you need to put this 5 Ingredient Homemade Granola together in a hurry.  I’ve got mine stored in a glass jar in our pantry.

Measure out 1 cup of oatmeal.  I used McCann’s quick cooking oatmeal for this recipe but you can use whatever oatmeal you have in your pantry, just not instant.

Measure out one half cup of shredded coconut and one half cup of slivered almonds.

Add the oatmeal, coconut and almonds to a large mixing bowl.  Next add 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil and 2 tablespoons of honey.  Stir all of the ingredients until well combined.

Spread out onto a baking sheet.  Bake for about 11 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  You’ll want to occasionally stir the granola while it’s baking to ensure that it is evenly browning.

I used a metal spatula to scrape the pan and loosen the granola.  I gave it some time to cool on the baking sheet and then carefully spooned it into a glass jar with a tight-fitting lid.

I think you’ll really enjoy this 5 ingredient homemade granola.  It is sweet from the honey and the almonds and coconut give it just a bit of extra crunch.  If you have a bit more time you can try my other granola recipe by clicking here.

5 Ingredient Granola

Ingredients

1 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup slivered almonds

3 tbsp vegetable oil

2 tbsp honey

Method

Measure out all ingredients into a large mixing bowl.  Stir until well combined.  Spread onto baking sheet into single layer.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 8 to 11 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Granola should be evenly browned.  After removing from oven, use spatula to loosen and cool on baking sheet.  Store covered in pantry.

Recipe adapted from barefoot contessa at home by Ina Garten.

This morning I’m linking to Mingle Monday at Add A Pinch and  Delicious Dishes over at A Southern Fairytale.

 

