Tags

, , , , , , , ,

At the risk of sounding a little like an 80 year-old-in-training and telling you about the weather {the hotter than hot, record-breaking heat}…I want to try instead to stay focused on how easy it is to prepare this uncooked cherry tomato sauce for the perfect {and perfectly simple} summer dinner.

With my tomato plants just limping along in this heat {oh boy, I talked about the weather again}, I scoured my sweet 100, yellow cherry and yellow pear tomato plants and came up with enough to prepare this Even with my tomato plan in full force, it’s tough keeping these plants alive during a hot, southern summer.  Maybe a few of you can relate.

Other than the tomatoes and the fresh basil {which I bought yesterday at Whole Foods}, I pulled everything else from my pantry.  There’s nothing like a well-stocked pantry to help a girl out at dinnertime.

By now, you might be asking…did your kids really eat that?  Oh, you didn’t ask?  Well, I would’ve and the honest answer is a Big.Fat.No.

They had the pasta with olive oil and fresh grated Parmagiano-Reggiano Cheese.  And, they were happy, well-fed young men.

This was so simple to put together {just minutes, I swear it}. Just toss it with hot pasta and serve with freshly grated Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese.  Or not.

Uncooked Cherry Tomato Sauce

Ingredients

1 pint assorted cherry tomatoes cut in half

1/2 cup Kalamata olives, pitted and chopped

2 tbsp capers, drained and chopped

1 garlic clove, finely minced

1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped

2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

juice of half a small lemon

1 1/2 tsp lemon zest

sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

8 ounces of spaghetti

fresh grated Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese (optional)

Method

Combine all ingredients, except pasta in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Cook pasta in salted, boiling water according to package directions.  Drain and toss with tomato sauce.  Top with freshly grated Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese, if desired.  Serve immediately.

