Tags

, , , , ,

 I am longing for a revamped front porch look.  You know the kind I’m talking about…beautiful finds from Restoration Hardware, Dash and Albert or Wisteria.  Sunbrella throw pillows, big, fluffy Boston ferns, something fun from Serena & Lily and a cool lantern or two.

{A girl can dream, can’t she?}

While I’m day-dreaming, I’m inspired by these photos from House Beautiful magazine.

photo by Simon Upton

 I love the mirror and the beautiful blue and white rug.  I totally dig the formality of the large, oval mirror in an outdoor space.

photo by Don Freeman

 The light blue painted ceiling and the blue Moroccan table.  {Lovely.}

Front porch + swing = quiet place to read (or do absolutely nothing or eat the salad below}.

Here’s an idea for lazy dining on the front porch which came to me while thumming through my copy of Everyday Food: Great Food Fast cookbook, which I posted about a couple of years back here.  What I like about this book is that it is divided into seasons, which means you are eating what’s available {in season} and bonus…it’s much cheaper.

I loved the obvious matched-up shape of the bocconcini (round) with balls of cantaloupe.  I picked up the fresh mint and prosciutto the other day and used fresh ground black pepper.  The original recipe below calls for the addition of salt and fresh lemon juice, both of which omitted.

This is one of those perfect dishes to enjoy outside on the front porch so you can enjoy some of your own lazy dining.

Cantaloupe and Bocconcini Salad with Fresh Mint

Ingredients

1 ripe cantaloupe scooped in 1-inch balls with melon baller (about 3 cups)

8 ounces of bocconcini

2-3 thin slices of prosciutto cut into strips

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

salt and pepper

1/4 cup torn mint leaves

Method

In a large bowl, combine first 4 ingredients.  Season with salt and pepper.

Toss with mint leaves, serve immediately.

Serves 4

Today I’m linking to Friday Potluck at Ekat’s Kitchen.

