Tags

, , , , ,

Thank you kind readers and loyal followers (and those who just stumbled onto Main St.) for giving me allowing me a litttle blogging vacation.  You stuck with me for a whole week when I didn’t even schedule a single blog post.  {That’s like, totally crazy in blog world}.

{I’m having a Sally Field-oscar-moment….you like me, you really like me!}

That was silly.  Sorry.

Well, I filled my blogging vacation with a real family vacation to the beaches of South Carolina.  Boy, these Carolinas {I’m in NC as you know} really know how to dazzle you with their beautiful beaches and warm water.  Just stunning.

There was only one silly photo of me on the beach (and thank the heavens none of me Boogie boarding with my oldest).  As usual, it didn’t make the cut, especially not for this post.

{Question:  Do you ever visit someplace memorable and never stop to put yourself in a photo?  I do that all the time.}

Lastly, if you take a peek just below my photo grid you’ll find my simple red wine vinaigrette recipe.  I use this recipe for everything and even as a basis for marinating vegetables and flank steak before grilling.  It would also taste great with the Heirloom Tomato Stack I shared here.

It takes just a few minutes to whip up and voila!

It’s good to be home and in my own bed, but we sure did enjoy ourselves.

And, now for the red wine vinaigrette recipe.  Read on.

Simple Red Wine Vinaigrette Recipe

Ingredients

2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

2 tbsp honey

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

10 large fresh basil leaves, chopped*

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Method

Combine all ingredients in a jar (I use a jam or jelly jar that has been run through the dishwasher), cover tightly and shake vigorously.  Store in your refrigerator.

*Use 2 tsp of dried basil in place of fresh.

