Tags

, , , , , , ,

I just finished cleaning the kitchen from our dinner about an hour ago.  I am totally still in vacation mode (I keep listening for the sounds of crashing waves, but sadly those are just happy memories).  It’s back to normal for this family including the first day of school which is right around the corner.

{routines are good}

  I totally love roasted vegetables, which I routinely prepare.  {nice transition, huh?} Generally, when I roast eggplant it’s for ratatouille or I’ll just grill the slices and stack them with marinara sauce and fresh mozzarella.  Either way is delicious that’s for sure. But, what about roasting chunked eggplant with olive oil and then adding in a few simple ingredients to make it a bit more interesting?  I like it.

My friend, Karen, over at Meeshie’s Mom told me about the special issue of everyday Food which is currently on your newstand.  It has a mouth-watering cover with the most delicious looking ice pop {you can’t miss it}.  On or around page 13 is a super snappy recipe for roasted eggplant and it’s part of the whole cook what’s in season concept which I’ve blogged about here before.

I rinsed one 14.5 ounce can of chickpeas in cool water over the sink.  Set aside for later.

I chopped 3 eggplants into about 1 1/2-inch pieces.  These were divided between two baking sheets.

I added about 3 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil to the eggplant and seasoned with Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.  I tossed it all with my hands (a bit messy, but the only way to go).  You’ll want to spread out the eggplant into one layer before placing the baking sheets into your oven.

Roast the eggplant in a 475 degree oven and stir once during the roasting time.  Let cool on the baking sheets.

Add the rinsed chickpeas and one 4 ounce package of crumbled feta cheese to a large bowl.  Also add the juice of 2 lemons and 2 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil.

Add 3/4 cup fresh chopped basil, Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper.  Toss ingredients.  Taste and adjust seasonings if needed.

I might toss this hot pasta, eat plain or spread it atop crostini.  {Delicious}

It would be lovely to present your guests with individual servings of this dish in small ramekins or something similar like this mini Le Creuset.  How cute would that be?  I have a mini obsession with Le Creuset which I’ve blogged about here and here.

Roasted Eggplant with Chickpeas and Feta

Ingredients

3 medium eggplants, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces

8 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil, divided

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 14.5-ounce can of chickpeas

1 4 ounce package of crumbled feta cheese

2 lemons

3/4 cup chopped, fresh basil

Method

Rinse chickpeas under cool water.  Set aside.

Cut eggplants into 1 1/2-inch pieces.  Spread between 2 baking sheets.  Toss with 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.  Roast in oven 25 to 30 minutes; stirring once.  Let cool on baking sheets.

Add the juice of 2 lemons, 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil, chickpeas and feta cheese to a large mixing bowl.  Add cooled eggplant and chopped basil and toss.  Add Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.  Taste and adjust seasonings.

 

I’m linking to th Creative Spark over at Clean & Scentsible.

 

