Tags

, ,

It dawned on me this afternoon that tomato season, especially this gal’s homegrown tomatoes, is nearly over.  I’m feeling a bit of anxious to make as many recipes with farmstand tomatoes as I can before it comes to an end.  I also realized that I hadn’t made bruschetta this summer as I usually do.  It’s a summer staple, really.

This version of bruschetta includes the addition of capers (nonpareil variety).  By the way, I adore capers in a tuna salad.  {Heaven.}

If you’re a tad bit green in the bruschetta arena, I should caution you that there is a very classic version of this recipe out there, but you are only limited  in your imagination as to what you’ll mix in with your chopped tomatoes.  My husband and I used to frequent a restaurant together in our single days which prepared their bruschetta with a mixture of cheeses, thinly sliced salami, fresh basil and a drizzle of reduced balsamic vinegar.  I’m craving it even as I type.

So, let’s get to the bruschetta with capers.

I used a mixture of tomatoes.  some are grape and simply chopped and seeded them.  You’ll need a 1/2 cup of chopped tomatoes to make 12 appetizer servings.

Pre-heat your oven to 450 degrees.  Slice 12 baguette slices using a serrated knife to get 1/4-1/2 inch slices.

Brush each slice with olive oil.  You’ll need 2 tbsp olive oil for this step.  Place your baking sheet into the preheated oven and toast approximately 4-5 minutes.

To the chopped tomatoes add 1 tbsp of olive oil, 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar, 1 garlic clove finely minced, 1 tbsp of capers and Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.  Mix well and taste.  Adjust seasonings if needed.

To each toasted baguette slice with tomato mixture and some shredded fresh basil.  I used about 6 large basil leaves.  Serve immediately.

My husband loved it, but the other “men” in the house only enjoyed the toasted bread.  Oh well.  More for the grown ups.

Bruschetta with Capers

Ingredients

12 slices of baguette (1/2 inch thickness)

3 tbsp olive oil, divided

1 1/2 cups chopped, seeded tomato

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

1 clove garlic, finely minced

1 tbsp capers (nonpareil)

Kosher salt

Freshly ground black pepper

5-6 large leaves fresh basil, cut into fine shred

Method

Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees.  Brush baguette slices with 2 tbsp olive oil.  Toast in oven about 5 minutes.

Mix chopped tomatoes with remaining 1 tbsp olive oil and next 3 ingredients.  Add salt and black pepper to taste.  Top each baguette slice with some tomato mixture and basil.  Serve immediately.

