Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I love this recipe for a weeknight dinner simply due to the fact that there are so few ingredients (just 7 if you don’t count salt and pepper).  I did make a few changes for example, we grilled it while the original recipe calls for roasting; I used boneless chicken thighs (the original calls for 1 whole chicken cut up); and finally, I added 1 tbsp of chopped, fresh ginger simply because I love fresh ginger.  You could certainly leave it out.

I found it (once again) from the everyday Food special issue and you can tell I’m making every to attempt to get my $5.00 worth out of this purchase since I’ve made the roasted eggplant with chickpeas and feta and the black-bottom cookie bars.  Typically, I’ll pick up a beautiful, glossy mag, look at the pics for inspiration and then toss it in the pile.  It’s good to confess these things.  I don’t think I’m ready for a hoarder’s show yet, but I’ve got a pile of magazines that really needs to be organized or tossed (or both).

In a bowl whisk together 1/3 cup honey,1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 2 tsp dried thyme, a scant 1 tbsp minced fresh ginger, 2 minced garlic cloves, 1 1/2 tsp coarse salt (I used Kosher salt), 1/4 tsp ground pepper.  I also added 1 tbsp of oil to the marinade.  This was because we were grilling.  I would’ve omitted this ingredient if I was roasting it in the oven.

My husband grilled the boneless skinless chicken thighs for approximately 20 minutes.  This may vary depending on the thickness of the chicken thighs you have.

After the grilled chicken was removed to a platter, I topped it with the boiled, reserved marinade to give it some sauciness.  I boiled the marinade for 2 minutes (a rolling boil not a simmer).

{Looks good, right?}

I think I would’ve omitted the thyme since I added the garlic and the ginger.

Honey-Glazed Chicken

this is the original recipe posted in everyday Food

Pre-heat oven to 475 degrees.  In a small bowl, whisk together 1/3 cup honey, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 2 tsp dried thyme, 1 1/2 tsp coarse salt, and 1/4 tsp ground pepper.  Place 1 whole chicken (about 3 1/2 lbs), cut into 8 pieces, on a rimmed baking sheet lined with foil; brush with honey mixture.  Roast until chicken is deep brown and cooked through, 20 to 25 minutes, brushing twice with honey mixture (don not brush during last 5 minutes of cooking).

Serves 4

I’m linking to Ultimate Recipe Swap at Life as Mom.

