Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This morning was a bit cooler than usual and though the weather man says it will pop up into the mid-eighties by this afternoon, he also said that by Friday the high will be 67.  Oh, how glorious.  That had me thinking about cardigans, Pendleton blankets, sipping homemade soup, wearing the cutest equestrian boots and hikes in the woods.

{I’m ready for fall to make its arrival.}

All of my day-dreaming may be a bit rushed since I think summer will linger a bit more here in North Carolina.

My little kindergartener is the Star Student this week and we spent a great deal of time Sunday evening on choosing something so special to go into the “share bag.”  He gets to sit in a special chair and all of his new friends get to guess what is in the bag.  There was a lot of discussion after his bath as to what it would be and finally…he picked one of the snap-together model cars he built with his Daddy.  Oh, the excitement of it all.

The model car arrived home safely and so did the cutest book filled with crayon drawings made by each classmate.  Each page had a picture of Brady.  Isn’t kindergarten amazing?!

He looked all through it and found his favorite picture that one of the little girls had drawn of him.  I have to say, I was very impressed especially for 5 year-olds.

Yesterday’s trip to Whole Foods yielded a ton of healthy snacks for lunch boxes and after school, a favorite iced tea of mine and this gorgeous looking fennel.  With the leftover arugula and red onion from yesterday’s salad with figs and goat cheese, I whipped up a nice little salad for myself.  I also used the remaining balsamic vinegar reduction.

Oh yes, you’ve totally caught my cheating ways.  Have you spied my cut-up watermelon in the plastic, Whole Foods container?  It just made putting together this salad so easy and infinitely less messy.

To save on calories I did not toss my arugula with olive oil and season with Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper.  You may want to add in that step if you are preparing it for yourself or for dinner guests.

I am attempting to be very organized this week with cooking and with five trips to the baseball field for either practice or games.  School, scouting and fall baseball are all in full swing.  The boys are loving every minute of it.

Here’s what I’m making this week:

Chicken Meatballs with roasted garlic and homemade breadcrumbs

Honey-Mustard Chicken with Orange and Dill

Olive Oil Roasted Tomatoes and Fennel with White Beans

Lasagna

Blondies from Meeshie’s Mom (after-school treat)

Orange Bread (Sunday morning)

Arugula Salad with Fennel, Watermelon and Feta

Ingredients

1 cup arugula

1/4-1/2 cup watermelon, seeded and cubed

2 thin slices of fennel

1 thin slice of red onion

1 tbsp feta cheese, crumbled

1 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar reduction (click on the link for technique)

Method

Plate arugula and top with watermelon cubes, fennel and red onion.  Sprinkle feta cheese and drizzle with balsamic vinegar.  Serve immediately.

Kitchen Note:  This salad serves 1, however, you can easily double or quadruple the ingredients for your family or guests.

