Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I think I may have mentioned this before, but we like our potatoes in this household.  You probably read it here or maybe here, but i DO prepare a potato side dish especially when my husband is home for dinner {and, aren’t there just a million yummy ways to prepare a potato?}. 

Versatility people.  Versatility.

Now, I’ve added this potato to the “5 Ingredient Recipes” list and as long as you’re not counting the Kosher salt and black pepper, the math adds up. {wink}

I wanted to share with you that I used my potato ricer that I had written about back when I started the Main St. Cuisine blog {please don’t laugh when you see this post.}.  But it is hands-down, one of my favorite gadgets and I’ve had mine for years.

For this recipe I left some of the potato flesh more chunked and used my potato ricer on the remaining flesh to get a smoother texture, which is why I’ve called these potatoes smashed and not mashed.  Are ya with me?

{Scroll down for the recipe}

 

 Smashed Yukon Gold Potatoes

Ingredients

3 lbs yukon gold potatoes

1/2 cup half and half

8 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

1/3 cup sour cream

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

snipped chives (optional)

Method

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Prick potatoes with the tines of a fork and wrap in aluminum foil.  Place in pre-heated oven and bake for 1 1/2 hours.  Remove from oven, split each potato in half and cool slightly until they can be handled.  Scoop out flesh into large mixing bowl.  Run half of the flesh through a potato ricer.

In a heavy sauce pan over medium-low heat, bring the half and half to a simmer.  Add half and half, melted butter, sour cream and salt and pepper to bowl and mix just until incorporated.  Do not over mix so that the potatoes still have a chunky texture.  Garnish with snipped chives, if using and serve.

Serves: 6-8

I’m sharing with:

Delightful Order

thrifty 101

life as MOM

Home is Where My Story Begins

