Tags

, , , , ,

Over the weekend the temperature dropped down into the low 60’s, which was pure heaven after a hot and steamy southern summer.  Of course, it drizzled all through my son’s t-ball game.  He didn’t care one bit but the fans were a little damp (and cold) at the end of the game.

Here he is in all of his not-caring-about-the-rain glory.

I’ve begun  a teeny bit of fall decorating around the house.  {Have you?}

I’ve been drawing some inspiration from a few of the photos below.  Even if you love the summer heat and all that those hot summer days bring {flip flops, beach visits & iced tea}, these photos just may make you appreciate the impending arrival of autumn.

 

 Dreamy feathers with sterling flatwear and and vintage blue glass.

From Country Living

I own a small collection of vintage brown transferware.  I love using the pieces I have at this time of year.

From Country Living

Are you beginning to see any acorns around your property?  This is such a lovely idea and it looks so delicate with the velvet ribon.

From Better Homes and Gardens

 

Speaking of Country Living, I found this grapefruit vinaigrette recipe on their site and I plan to serve it with some Butter lettuce, red onion and just a sprinkle of toasted pecans and pomegranate seeds.  I’ll share the photos later in the week.

I picked up a couple of organic red grapefruits from last week’s shopping trip to Whole Foods.

I used some fresh thyme as per the recipe, but I think you could easily easily use dried thyme.  Just reduce the quantity.  And if you’d like another quick citrus vinaigrette, visit this post.

 

Grapefruit Vinaigrette

Ingredients

2/3 cup fresh grapefruit juice

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

3 tsp honey

1/4 tsp fresh thyme, chopped

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper

1/2 tbsp Dijon mustard

3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Method

Pour the grapefruit juice into a small sauce pan and bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.  Simmer juice for about 10 minutes or until reduce by half.  Cool.

In a clean jar, add the next 6 ingredients.  Add reduced grapefruit juice and olive oil.  Secure lid and then shake vigorously.

 Yield: 1 cup

Sharing with:

A Southern Fairytale

Clean & Scentsible

Savvy Southern Style

A Beach Cottage

life as MOM

Home is Where My Story Begins

Delightful Order

thrifty 101

French Country Cottage

Ekat’s Kitchen

At the Picket Fence