Tags

, , , , ,

I think we’re getting closer to soup weather, even here in the south.   As you know from this post and this one, I’m ready for some fall weather.

Lately I’ve been craving potato soup {or maybe just a yummy baked potato}.  Seems everyone I talk to has their own recipe, but not everyone has a written recipe.  It’s just something that they put together and that their family loves.  In fact, while checking out at Trader Joes a few days ago, the cashier said, “Are you making potato soup?”  I seemed to have all of the tell-tale ingredients.  She began to tell me about her own version, which apparently is quite popular with her friends and family.  And as expected, she has no recipe.

Well today, I’m going to provide you with an actual recipe for baked potato soup.  This is a wonderful meal for a Sunday afternoon.  This one is from The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook.  I’ve had this book for nearly seven years and it has a broad collection of their best recipes.  I’m certain you can find it used on Amazon.

Doesn’t this look yummy?  Perfect for cooler weather and I think my husband would enjoy it (it has bacon in it).

I topped mine with a little extra shredded cheddar cheese and sliced green onions.  It was super filling and tasted just like a baked potato.

My family is still asleep.  It’s just me, my coffee and Abby {our dog}, but here’s what we’re up to this Sunday:

church

baseball field

pumpkin patch

 Halloween decorating

Enjoy your Sunday too!

Baked Potato Soup

Ingredients

4 large baking potatoes

2/3 cup butter

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

6 cups milk

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, divided

12 slices bacon, cooked, crumbled and divided

4 green onions, chopped and divided

1 (8-ounce) container sour cream

Method

Wash potatoes; prick several times with fork.  Bake at 400 degrees for 1 hour or until done.  Cool.  Cut potatoes in half lengthwise; scoop out pulp and reserve.  Discard shells.

Melt butter in a Dutch oven over low heat; add flour, stirring until smooth.  Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Gradually add milk; cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thickened and bubbly.

Stir in potato, salt, pepper, 1 cup cheese, 1/2 cup bacon and 2 tbsp green onions; cook until heated (do not boil).  Stir in sour cream; cook just until heated (do not boil).  Sprinkle servings with remaining cheese, bacon and green onions.

Yield: 10 cups

