Tags

, , , ,

I have been staring at the bread recipes from Nathalie Dupree’s Great Meals for Busy Cooks for months.  I haven’t made a yeast bread in years {notice you don’t see any on my blog} and suddenly I decided to go for it.  After all, it’s just bread.  It isn’t scary and if it doesn’t work you just toss it.  I always have the fear that it won’t rise {despite following the recipe.}

I also follow Karen over at Meeshie’smom Blog and she’s always baking up some delicious homemade bread.  I consider her to be a little bit of an expert on the subject.  Recently she posted this Pesto Spread Bread and it’s next on my list.  Doesn’t it look amazing?  I’ve got some arugula pesto that I made over the summer in my freezer, which I’d love to use with her recipe.

So, armed with a simple recipe and a can-do attitude, I made two loaves of sour cream and chive bread.    Not too shabby for a wanna be bread baker.

 Here are the two loaves after the second rising.  I placed them on a Silpat while the oven was preheating to 375 degrees.

Just before baking, score the top of both loaves with a sharp knife in a tic-tac-toe pattern.  Then brush with 2 tbsp of milk.  Bake 40 to 45 minutes, or until the bread is a deep golden brown and the bottoms sound hollow when you tap them.

I cooled the loaves on a wire rack before slicing.  The boys loved this with whipped butter.

I want to try this again to play around with mixing and kneading in my food processor.  I’d never tried that, but it was part of the recipe.

Sour Cream and Chive Bread

Ingredients

1 package active dry yeast

1 tbsp sugar

1/4 cup warm water (105 to 115 degrees F)

2 1/2 to 3 1/2 cups bread flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

3 tbsp olive oil

1 egg

2/3 cup sour cream

2 tbsp chopped fresh chives

2 tbsp milk

Method

In a small bowl, dissolve the yeast and sugar in the water.  In a food processor, combine 2 1/2 cups of the flour, salt , pepper olive oil, egg, sour cream, and chives.  Process to blend, then add the yeast mixture and combine.  Knead until the dough is elastic and smooth as a baby’s bottom, adding more flour 1/2 cup at a time as needed.  Place the dough in an oiled plastic bag or bowl, seal or cover with plastic wrap, a nd let double, about 1 hour.  When doubled, punch down the dough and shape into 2 rounds.  Place on a greased baking sheet.  Let double again, about 45 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  With a knife, score the top of each dough round in a tic-tac-toe pattern.  Brush with the milk and bake 40 to 45 minutes, or until the bread is deep brown and the bottoms sound hollow when tapped.  Remove from the oven and place the bread on wire racks to cool.

Makes 2 loaves

Recipe from Great Meals for Busy Days by Nathalie Dupree

