Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday we headed to the NC State Fair.  It was perfect weather {sunny and 74} for walking around, standing in lines, eating bad-for-you food and spending time together as a family.   The boys enjoyed every minute of it from the cotton candy, to the games {the kind where you spend $20 so your kid can walk away with a reggae banana}, bumper cars,  ice cream cones, huge cups of lemonade and the log ride.

We walked and walked and walked.

We plugged our ears during the tractor pull and actually I’m quite sure what a tractor pull is but, it sure was loud.

 I told my husband I might be good with taking a break next year.  You know, a year off.  He may have used the term “party pooper,” but I’m determined on finding an alternative family activitiy when the fair rolls around next year (like a weekend at the beach or apple picking at a local farm).

Although, it’s clear from this photo {especially} that it was worth another visit to the fair this year.  I love this expression on his face.

Turning to brownies…

I also want to share with you this unbelievable chocolate chip brownie recipe.  I found it on Lisa Bearnson’s blog more than a year ago and I’ve made them like a million times.  They are so very easy to whip up.  Lisa is the founding editor of Creating Keepsakes Magazine {if you’re scrapbooker you know who I’m talking about} and she has a neat blog that I follow.  I’m posting the recipe below but also want to link back to Lisa’s original post HERE.

Chocolate Chip Brownies

Ingredients

 1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups granulated sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp salt

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Method

Cream butter, oil and sugar.  Add eggs and vanilla and mix well.  Add dry ingredients.  Pour into lightly greased 9- x 13-inch baking pan.  Sprinkle with chocolate chips (I mixed mine into the batter).  Bake at 350 degrees for 23-25 minutes.  Best if not quite done.

