Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Many months ago when I planted my tomato garden and created my {slightly brilliant} tomato plan, I just assumed I’d be putting together that old summer standby, the tomato-cucumber salad.  Hmmm…never happened.   I think I was too busy whipping up tomato sandwiches.  Also a summer staple and how I miss them now that fall is in full swing.

This salad is a little twist on what I typically put together.  First of all, I used a standard cucumber and left the peel on.  Generally, I use and English cucumber.  I also used grape tomatoes since they still have good flavor at this time of year.  Usually, I’ll use chopped fresh basil and flat leaf parsley with a little balsamic vinegar.

 

 To begin, cut the ends off of 1 organic cucumber and then cut it into 1 inch chunks.  Then I turned those pieces on their side and sliced them.  Place the slices into a colander and sprinkle with 1 tsp of salt .  Let sit for about 5 minutes.  Rinse 1 pint of grape tomatoes and then cut them into quarters.  Add the tomatoes and cucumbers into a bowl.  Then add the following: the zest and juice from 1 lemon, 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper, 1 minced garlic clove , 2 tbsp of olive oil and 2 tbsp of minced fresh dill.  Season with Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.

I ate mine with whole grain pita bread and it made a really nice vegetarian lunch.  I felt extra healthy after yesterday’s junk food fest at the state fair.  You can read more about that here.

Now, what to do with all of the leftover organic dill.  Any ideas?

Tomato-Cucumber Salad

Ingredients

1 cucumber

1 pint grape tomatoes, quartered

1 tsp Kosher salt

zest and juice of 1 lemon

1 garlic clove, minced

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

2 tbsp dill, chopped

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Method

Cut the ends off of the cucumber.  Cut into 1-inch pieces.  Turn the cut pieces onto their sides and slice.  Add sliced cucumber to a colander, sprinkle with 1 tsp Kosher salt and let drain for about 5 minutes.

Add quartered tomatoes and prepared cucumber slices to a bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and toss well.  Season with Kosher salt and black pepper to taste.   Serve with pita bread.

