Tags

, , , , ,

Saturday night was quiet one for our family though I admit that those evenings are just fine with me.  We had a busy day though…a 10:00am t-ball game, lunch out, and one really long game of Monopoly, which my Mom patiently played with the boys for several hours.  We also managed to spend an hour or more playing baseball in our backyard.  Seems they never tire of baseball these days.

My husband was working late and I wanted to prepare a quick meal for us.  I had leftover roast chicken from this recipe and so I was able to pull together chicken noodle soup for our dinner.

 I adapted a recipe from Martha Stewart’s book, Favorite Comfort Food.  It came togehter quickly and I served it alongside some grilled cheese sandwiches.  You can find the original recipe here.

Fresh dill really makes this soup and I also used my own stock, which I make and freeze in 1-quart containers.  The original recipe calls for egg noodles but small elbow macaroni work well for my kids and bonus, less slurping at the dinner table.

Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients

3 quarts chicken stock

3 carrots, cut into 1/4-inch thick rounds

2 celery stalks, cut into 1/4-inch thick slices

8 ounces small elbow macaroni

about 4 cups shredded, cooked chicken

1/4 cup chopped, fresh dill

1/4 cup chopped fresh, flat-leaf parsley

salt and pepper to taste

Method

Place stock in a stockpot over medium-high heat, and bring just to a simmer.  Add carrots and simmer until tender, about 6 minutes.

Meanwhile, bring a large saucepan of salted water to a boil.  Cook the noodles until just tender, about 6 minutes.  Drain the noodles and add them to the pot of stock, along with the shredded chicken meat.  Season with salt and pepper.  Heat until very hot.  When ready to serve, stir in dill and parsley.

Yield: 3 1/4 quarts

Recipe adapted from Favorite Comfort Food by Martha Stewart

