Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

predictable?  Totally.  But, it’s fall and aren’t we craving homemade treats made with pumpkin, cinnamon and nutmeg?  I sure am.

It got so chilly here Friday night (high 40’s).  Cue the eye-rolling from my friends and family in the northeast.  In my defense, it was somewhere around 75 the day before.  That’s a 20 degree drop.  The Friday night baseball game was downright arctic (windy and a non-stop rainy drizzle) and to stop our teeth from chattering, we wrapped ourselves in stadium blankets, wore hats and huddled together.  The coach passed out handwarmers for the boys to use in the dugout and I tried to convince my son to where at least 3 shirts before he put on his jersey. I think he managed at least two before he got frustrated and told me he couldn’t tuck them all into his baseball pants.  Oh well, I tried.

So here’s a quick muffin recipe you can pull together in no time using 1 cup of canned muffin.  You probably have all of the spices in your pantry, like cinnamon and ginger.  I also used fresh grated nutmeg, which smells so much better than already ground in a jar.

I brought these to my son’s kindergarten “pumpkin party” on Friday morning, where the kids were tasting various foods made with pumpkin.

I did leave out the cranberries and pecans (which are in the ingredient list below) when I made them for his class.  I know how frustrating it can be for a 5 year-old to have to pick out unwanted things from a muffin.

And here he is with his little pumpkin he decorated during the party.  Oh, how I will miss when his kindergarten year is over.  He’s having such a fun time with his teachers and new friends.

Pumpkin Cranberry-Pecan Muffins

Ingredients

2 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp nutmeg (fresh grated, if you can)

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

3/4 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup pecans, chopped

Method

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.  Place paper liners into 12 muffin cups.

In large bowl, mix flour, sugars, baking powder, and spices.  Stir in pumpkin and eggs. Fold in cranberries and pecans.  Do not overmix batter.  Spoon into muffin cups.  Bake 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of muffin comes out clean.  Remove muffins from pan to wire cooling rack.

Yield: 12 muffins

