Tags

, , , ,

Well, here I go again…getting back to my blog after a nearly two-week hiatus.  Time flies when you’re having fun.  We had lots of house guests from out west, which our kids always love.  Then there was Halloween and the first annual Halloween candy buy-back (my kids thought they were being punished). And, my own trip to Arizona and California.

My week spent in Phoenix, AZ and Big Bear, CA was just glorious…lots of laughing with my sweet friend, joking with other friends (making new friends), sipping cocktail-concoctions {I honestly don’t know what the name of my chocolate-coconut cocktail was}, good conversation over a glass of wine, lots of coffee, daily phone calls with my family, more posts on facebook than I’ve done in an entire year, enjoying a day’s worth of calories in one breakfast and a good amount of snow.

{In a word: perfect.}

 Is this beautiful? Taken while we were still “on the mountain,” and heading into Redlands, CA.  Just six short hours until we were safe and sound and back in Arizona.

And so, all good things must come to an end and after a week it was time to fly home (thanks for the direct flight, Southwest) to North Carolina to be with my family.  It was really hard to leave my traveling companion and dear friend.  She’s part of my San Diego circle and I hate that we live so far apart.  Of course, we’ve already planned our next trip {and April 2013 will be here before you know it}.

I’ve been home for a week and have been tackling all manner of household things.  I’m just now sitting down to write this little post to you all.

Last night, I made this roast pork loin with garlic and rosemary.  I love that it is nearly impossible to not have it turn out wonderful.  Let me apologize to you up front…I did not snap a photo after pulling it from the oven.  I lost all of my light and photos with the flash on just aren’t pretty.

You can see from the photos that you are basically making a rub for the pork.  I snipped fresh rosemary from the garden and chopped enough for 4 teaspoons; you’ll also need 4 minced (or pressed) garlic cloves; 1 1/2 teaspoons of Kosher salt; and 1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper.  Mix those ingredients together in a small bowl.

One note on the pork loin.  You’ll find that most pork loins in your grocery store are sold in pairs. To prevent the top half from sliding off the bottom half (it will happen), simply used kitchen string to tie it together.  I tied mine in 3 places before putting the pork into the oven, cooking both at the same time.  I also place some the rosemary-garlic mixture in between the two loins before tying.

I’m including the recipe below and you can also click here for the original recipe on epicurious.

Roast Pork Loin with Rosemary and Garlic

Ingredients

4 large garlic cloves, minced

4 tsp fresh rosemary (about 3 springs), chopped

1 1/2 tsp Kosher salt

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1 2 lb boneless pork loin roast, well-trimmed

Method

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a roasting pan with aluminum foil

Mix first 4 ingredients in a small bowl.  Rub rosemary-garlic mixture all over pork.  Place pork, fat side down, in prepared roasting pan.  Roast for 30 minutes.  Turn roast fat side up.  Roast until thermometer inserted into center (or thickest part) registers 155 degrees F, about 25 minutes longer.

Remove from oven; let stand 10 minutes before slicing into 1/3-inch slices.

Yield: 6 servings

