Tags

, ,

Inspirations + Resources

I wanted to share with you a couple of blogs that served as some wonderful inspiration for preparing for my son’s birthday party.  The first is paint chips and cupcakes and if you click here, you’ll see the most clever party post.  I was so taken by the cute felt adornment for the front door, that I had my Mom make something similar.  Jodi is the author and let me tell you, her blog is fantastic {with a capital F.}  The other blog I got a few ideas from is the Hostess {with the mostess} blog. Let me just say that if you’re planning a party down the road, you may want to pay a visit to this blog.  I didn’t really borrow any ideas from this post, but it was just so fun to look at.  Author, Jennifer Sbranti really knows her stuff.

{A few more party photos}

I had to do a slight improvisation on my cake when the super cute {castle and dragon fondant toppers that I had ordered} didn’t arrive, so my oldest let me borrow a fiersome looking dragon and a brave knight from his collection.  They are from AC Moore and the cake was from the bakery at Walmart.

Now you should know that I’m a Target girl, but these were too cute to pass up.  These vintag-y looking plates and napkins (along with the green plates and blue cocktail napkins were all from Walmart.

 I used wooden skewers from my local grocery store (Harris Teeter), scrapbooking paper and little Elmer’s glue stick to put these together.  I think the entire project took somewhere around 25 minutes.  The scrapbooking paper was from a 180-page paper stack named “Everyday Tango” by My Mind’s Eye.  The paper was purchased last summer at AC Moore.

I used Jelly Bellies and m & m-like candies from The Fresh Market  to fill three glass containers.  I tucked three of the flags into each candy-filled container to decorate the tables where the kids ate.  I also used a vintage chalkboard to write a birthday message.  The glass containers were purchased from Southern Living at Home {now, Willow House & I don’t believe they’re available}. The chalkboard was bought at auction.

{A few other items + resources:}

Stars hanging from chandelier – Walmart

Number 6 birthday candle – Walmart

Blue tablecloths – Walmart

Mylar “Birthday Boy” balloon & blue and green balloons – Lowes Foods

Mini bags, lollipop sticks & ribbon – Michaels

Knight shields – Dollar Tree

Inflatable swords, princess crowns and wands – Century Novelty

Super cute cupcake toppers – by The Crafty Celtic Lass (on etsy)

Posterboard, sequins, felt, & ribbon – AC Moore

Jewels (both sizes) for craft project – AC Moore

Basket holding inflatable swords – Target

If you see something that I may have missed please email me.

